Judging Panel

The judging panel is split between seven categories, select the relevant tab for more.

Marketers Panel

Builders Panel

Publishers Panel

Gamers Panel

Innovators & Engineers Panel

Special Honours


Jury Chair: Gareth McPherson Publicis Machine

Brian Carter Liquorice

Jason Xenopoulos NATIVE VML

Melissa van Zyl M&C Saatchi Abel

Bronwyn Hardick Showmax

Chris Gotz OFyt

Tseliso Rangaka Ogilvy

Justin Gomes FoxP2

Carl Jordan The Newsroom

Eric van Rookhuysen MEC Global

Kabelo Moshapalo Digital Arts Network

Andrew Bloom Mirum

Felix Kessel Leo Burnett

Alistair King KingJames

Greg Banach Greg Banach

Andrew Felbert WhySatisfy

Lloyd Wybrow Liquorice

Leila Davies World Wide Creative

Jason Smit Saatchi Synergize

Shane Joseph World Wide Creative

Reino Jansen van Rensburg Mirum

Denvor Daniels Vodacom

Henk Pieterse Allan Gray

Andre van Niekerk Nespresso

Andre De Villiers Ogilvy

Coenraad Sutton Unknown

Nick Kantos DSG Group



Jury Chair: Claire Cobbledick Gumtree

Antonio Petra FCB

Mzamo Masito Vodacom

Adam Brandt Gorilla

Paula Hulley Gloo@Ogilvy

Luke Jedeikin Superbalist

Jessica vd Westhuizen Punk

Catherine Murray Creative Spark

Anne Dearnaley PHD South Africa

Camilla Clerke Hellocomputer

Ivo Vegter Ivo Vegter

Johan Steyn Nurun

Prakash Patel Fogg

Miles Murphy Liquorice

Jacqui Maroun NATIVE VML

Chris Marais Gloo@Ogilvy

Ivo Brodnik Qdivision

Nick Kontos DSG Group

Adam Whitehouse NATIVE

Greg Russell Independent

Sean Wilson Smith Solo Content



Jury Chair: Izak Minnaar SABC Digital

Philani Mdingi Maverick Mind

Mark du Plessis Spark Media

Chris Louw Caxton Digital

Tim Bradley ColonyHQ

Lisa Mac Leod Times Media

TinaShe Makwande 24.com

Chris Borain Mail & Guardian

Renato Balona Daily Sun

Tanya Pamplone Media Hack Collective

Jannie Momberg Jannie Momberg

Lynne O’Connor ENCA

Andrew Felbert WhySatisfy

Lloyd Wybrow Liquorice

Sean Wilson Smith Solo Content



Jury Chair: Johann von Backstrom Telkom Digital Gaming League

Zaid Kriel IGN Africa

Danielle Moolman Mondia Media South Africa

Glen Gillis SeaMonster

Geoffrey Tim Lazygamer



Jury Chair: Graham Talbot Gloo@Oglivy

Nevo Hadas &Innovation

Saul Kropman SLV&CO

Adrien Dawens NATIVE VML

Nathan Gates Freelance Creative technologist

Andrew Felbert WhySatisfy

Lloyd Wybrow Liquorice

Matthew Wilke Ogilvy



Miles Murphy Liquorice

Catherine Murray Creative Spark

Jason Xenopoulos NATIVE VML

Jarred Cinman NATIVE VML

John Dixon Saatchi &Saatchi

Chris Borain M&G

Josephine Buys IAB SA

Nathi Maramnco Independent

Musa Kalenga Independent

Eben Grewers Vizeum

Jerry Mpufane M&C Saatchi Abel

Shervin Pruthab Fogg Agency

Mqondisi Gumede Fogg Agency

Ivan Moroke Cocurrency

Zibusiso Mkhwanazi Avatar


Judging Process


Judging takes place in two rounds:


1. Online:

The judges log in via a judging system and will begin by reading the “one-pagers” supplied. Thereafter they will view the material in more depth for those entries that they believe have a strong chance of progressing through the competition. THE JUDGE IS UNDER NO OBLIGATION TO READ ALL OF YOUR DOCUMENTS OR WATCH ALL OF YOUR VIDEOS.


2. On-site:

The judges convene for two days of intense judging to score all finalists. Scoring is secret and only the jury president will know at the end of the judging who the winners are.

Judges are recused from judging their own work, or work that presents a conflict of interest. In round 2, recused judges are physically absent and do not participate in the discussions. In facilitating round 2, the jury president will be assisted by three additional jury chairs. To ensure neutrality, neither the president nor chairs judge entries. Their role is to manage the judging process, and to ensure fairness and equal application of the entry criteria and competition rules.

The jury president, solely, retains a collective, aggregated view of results and determines the award thresholds.


The awards

Based on the criteria, entries are narrowed down to a shortlist before final evaluation by the judges. This shortlist will be released prior to the Bookmarks show.

The final score then determines their qualification for bronze certificates, or silver, gold or perspex (for special honours) pixels.

Shortlisted entries do not automatically qualify for an award. Self-promotional work will not be eligible for gold pixels.